Who Will Be the NFL’s MVP This Season?

Who Will Be the NFL's MVP This Season

Patrick Mahomes of the Kansas City Chiefs won last season’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) award in the NFL as well as the same award in the Super Bowl. Will the star quarterback do it again next season or can we expect to see someone else claim this sought-after award?

Patrick Mahomes – Kansas City Chiefs

Mahomes is currently leading the way in the odds for this award in the 2023-24 season. He joined the Chiefs in the 2017 NFL draft and quickly established himself as one of the best quarterbacks of all time. Regarded as a leading dual-threat QB, his power, running, and passing ability make it extremely difficult for rivals to contain him.

Last season Mahomes established a new record by leading the NFL in passing yards and passing touchdowns as well as winning those MVPs awards mentioned earlier. The highlight of his season came in Super Bowl LVII when he led his team to victory against the Philadelphia Eagles despite suffering an ankle injury.

Of course, to stand a chance of being named MVP, Mahomes probably needs his team to perform as well as last season and reach the postseason stage. The roster is largely the same as last season, with additions such as Donovan Smith and Jawaan Taylor helping to boost their chances of winning a third Super Bowl in just five seasons. If you don’t feel ready to predict the MVP for the full season, you can follow the newest football lines to bet on individual games each week. This lets you decide whether you think the Chiefs will win their next game, while you can also wager on areas such as winning margins, number of touchdowns, and other factors.

Joe Burrow – Cincinnati Bengals

Another quarterback sits just behind Mahomes in the current odds for the MVP award. Joe Burrow joined the Cincinnati Bengals as the first overall pick in the 2020 draft. It didn’t take long for him to make an impact, as he led them to their first playoff win since way back in 1990.

Burrow has now taken the Bengals to five wins in the postseason as well as helping them reach Super Bowl LVI. Famed for coolness under pressure, Burrow was unable to reach the Super Bowl last season as they lost to the Kansas City Chiefs in the AFC Championship Game. A recent survey carried out by ESPN named him as the second-best NFL quarterback behind Mahomes.

What can we expect from the Bengals in season 2023-24?  While they’ve lost some defensive depth since last season and may need to adjust their defensive tactics to make up for this, the Bengals’ biggest move came with the contract for Orlando Brown Jr. The offensive tackle joined Cincinnati from the Kansas City Chiefs on a four-year contract worth $64 million.

Josh Allen – Buffalo Bills

The third of the three QBs who lead the odds to be the NFL MVP, Josh Allen joined the Buffalo Bills in the 2018 draft and enjoyed his breakout season in 2020. This was when he took the Bills to their first victory at the playoff stage since 12995.

He was selected for the Pro Bowl in 2020 and 2022, while 2021 saw him get the highest passer rating in the postseason. Last season was Allen’s third consecutive season where he made more than 4,000 passing yards and at least six rushed touchdowns and 25 passing touchdowns, becoming the first QB in history to rack up these numbers three seasons in a row.

Can the Bills reach the Super Bowl this season and help Josh Allen win the MVP award? The franchise has been battling for the AFC title in each of the last four seasons but has been unable to overcome the Chiefs. This season, some relatively minor changes to their roster have seen additions such as tight end Dalton Kincaid and Poona Ford added to their existing options.

Justin Herbert – Los Angeles Chargers

The odds increase once we drop past those first three QBs on the list. The fourth favorite to be named MVP for 2023-24 is also a quarterback. Justin Herbert joined the Los Angeles Chargers in the 2020 draft, as the sixth overall pick, and has experience of winning the MVP award at the Rose Bowl the same year.

He’s been the franchise’s starting QB since the start of his rookie season, in which he set some impressive records for touchdown passes and games where he racked up 300 yards. Herbert was named AP NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year in that first season and was enjoying a productive 2022 until his team lost a 27-0 lead against the Jacksonville Jaguars to fall out of the postseason at the Wild Card Round.

The Chargers’ roster isn’t greatly changed for the new season, although additions such as linebacker Eric Kendricks and wide receiver Quentin Johnston are expected to make an impact. A bigger change could come from their changes in the offensive coaches, which could help Herbert to unleash his potential this season.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *